Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: From Blue to Red!

From Blue to Red!

Alright, as of April 16, I will have 10 days to try and pull two 4AGEs and put one into my AE86. This thread is in place for two reasons, so I can make my first build thread ever, and also so anyone can tell me what I am doing wrong as I am totally new to the 4AGE aside from some light work to my AE92.

Current progress: the AE86 has a blown blue top, it is almost all the way out of the car, even more so then the pics here, I have put 2 days work in, and have already changed my mind how I am doing it, the tranny is coming out too, its how I have pulled other engines, so I will stick with it. The AE92 has been in an accident, so I will be pulling my small port red top out, crying, and then putting it in the AE86. The red top is totally stock aside from the intake, which I pulled off a Celica at a scrap yard for $5, and its a nice K&N and all, easily cleaned with my father's cleaning kit! lol

So aside from parting out my AE92 and having easter dinner, I have until April 26th to get this done... Or at least try to...

I also have a conversion plate so I can use the big port intake, so that part is done.
    My red top is old and beat up, a little leaky, but I am going to drop it in without doing too much to it, and when I get a real job, I will totally rebuild it, but I want to get it in and running and wired properly first.

So, the plan...
    I am going to pull both engines
    I want to use the red top ECU and injectors, so I think I have to change the connection to the injectors.
    I need to redo my cam cover seals, I may check out my shim clearance, but nothing else.
    I am going to clean everything up, degrease it, and paint a few things so it looks pretty.
    I have a TRD oil cap, yes, I am that cool!!!
    And thats the basic plan... But I know it will be harder...

Problems: