Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: There's a first for everything...

There's a first for everything...

...and this thread will document my first car, first AE86, and maybe some drifing in there if I can manage it.

I figured I could just skip my introduction post and go right into my build and compile everything into something that’d be easier to track, as my progress will be slow and my car will be slow so don’t expect many things to happen at once. A bit of a disclaimer, I’m gonna go into detail for the most basic ****, I’m a noob at this, I don’t know what I’m doing, so this is more of a “help the newbie” build thread. So if you don’t want anything to do with this I understand, but for those of you that want to help I would appreciate if you can give me input and suggestions on what I’m doing/what I should be doing.

So here we go…

I’m Chris, recently turned 17yo HS (upcoming) senior in Calgary funding my dream with a part-time at a grocery store, exciting eh? I wasn’t always interested in old school Toyotas or 86s to begin with, but I had a little influence from my family. My uncle has been running with AE86s for quite some time now, before I could even remember he always had at least one 86 that couldn’t move itself, and now in the present this is still true. In the start of 2014, he had two in his garage, one SR5 shell ready for a GTS conversion, and another SR5 with a 20v Blacktop. My uncle ended up selling the SR5 20v to my older brother and I was planning on buying the other when an 86 I wanted popped up on Kijiji, and this is where my 86 came into existence (still nearly double my age however).