Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Wtb beams ecu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Victoria BC
    Posts
    42

    Wtb beams ecu

    Fully wired and installed a beams into my 86 but it looks like the ECU is damaged, need a replacement for a G5 P/N 89661-53510 sent to Victoria, BC. Need this car driveable ASAP

    Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Victoria BC
    Posts
    42
    Open to trade for parts as well, http://dorikaze.net/showthread.php?t=44750

    Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Brampton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,488
    How is it damaged? Maybe it can be repaired.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Victoria BC
    Posts
    42
    Maybe but it's likely to be the same cost to replace it. And I don't know how it's damaged, just that it doesn't work

    Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Brampton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,488
    Maybe we can open it up and take pictures when you get your other ecu.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Victoria BC
    Posts
    42
    I've already opened it up, there isn't any visually obvious damage

    Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Lethbridge Alberta
    Posts
    4,475
    is it possible that its a wiring issue? what tells you that the ecu is damaged?
    Owned too many different modified toyotas to list LOL


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Victoria BC
    Posts
    42
    - I've been over the wiring harness about three times less than a billion
    - Everything that is supposed to have power is receiving the correct voltage and has the correct ground
    - All the sensors that are throwing codes all show correct voltage and operation
    - I'm pulling codes
    - Correct fuel pressure
    - Fuel pump relay works

    Engine cranks, starts and then dies. The entire problem is limited to the E-throttle and the ECU not sending power or operating the throttle, suggesting an issue with that circuit in the ECU (since the power feed and ground for this circuit are both correctly wired). I know this since the throttle motor does not operate in any condition and I can't find any signal being sent when I crank the engine, or even key on (when it should be putting it through a quick startup sequence).

    I'll be inspecting the harness again but I'm almost 100% certain that the issue lies with the ECU, nothing else makes sense and everyone who has done this swap can't find the issue. At this point all I can do is another inspection and try another ECU.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    2,984

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Brampton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,488
    Hey now! I just wired a blacktop beams and had the same problem. There was an additional power feed to the PCM that runs the E throttle (and threw a code or two for some other sensors).

    I believe it was signal +BM, pin P6 according the wiring diagram I have here, which was some other connector according to an ecu pinout I saw (with was wrong for the blacktop)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Brampton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,488
    This is the document I worked from, and made the whole project work. While my memory fades fast I recall it was different from many of the other diagrams I've seen.

    http://www.filedropper.com/blacktop3...inoutandwiring

  12. #12
    visean's Avatar
    visean is offline Yo, troubled night in the John
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Victoria BC
    Posts
    2,220
    Thanks sparkie. I wonder if that's the issue
    Last edited by visean; 07-22-2016 at 12:56 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Victoria BC
    Posts
    42
    I just did a check before I removed the wiring harness today Sparkie and I have +12V to that line as well as all lines grounded, so I can't tell you what exactly is wrong with it. It just refuses to work, I have however just been sold an ECU so when that arrives hopefully the problem will be solved

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Brampton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,488
    Best of luck, keep us posted.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Victoria BC
    Posts
    42
    So it was the ECU, 100%. Some tweaking to do now but the car runs

    Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Brampton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,488
    Nice! Sorry if we sounded too reluctant to believe you - it's statistically less probable than other scenarios.

    Now that you've got a dead ecu on your hands what are you going to do with it?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Victoria BC
    Posts
    42
    I was surprised too

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Victoria BC
    Posts
    42
    I don't know what I'll do with the ECU, I'll probably see if there's a way to repair it. Otherwise, trash

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,190
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparkie View Post
    Now that you've got a dead ecu on your hands what are you going to do with it?
    I can already see the hopeful sparkle in your eyes.
    '80 MX32 sedan |'83 AE71 wagon |'84 AE86 hatch
    '85 AE86 coupe |'86 AE86 hatch |'86 AE86 coupe
    '88 MR2 S/C |'86 S12 hatch |'88 Silvia K's
    '91 Z30 Soarer '92 JZS147 Aristo |'92 S13 coupe
    '93 R33 Skyline |'98 S14 kouki


    Quote Originally Posted by JungleMatic View Post
    Is dyno like 200 for the hp if mustang shifts but 300 if corolla shifts?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Brampton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,488
    Quote Originally Posted by Brandon G View Post
    I can already see the hopeful sparkle in your eyes.
    This is true, I have not yet ripped apart a BEAMS ecu.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •