Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: Not turning over, 2nd was bogging upon shift before stalling

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    153

    Not turning over, 2nd was bogging upon shift before stalling

    Was driving and shifted at 6K to second when all of a sudden upon shifting, I was bogging down as if I shifted to 4th but no, I was in second and it was bogging and losing power until I stalled. Now it won't turn over.

    All my fuses and relays are good, my intake hose is on tight, my battery is good, what could it possibly be? clutch not engaging? my fuel pump?, dizzy?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    153
    I'll report back to see if I can hear a the starter click and fuel pump buzz tomorrow.
    Last edited by Mdnght Lvr; 08-21-2016 at 11:01 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Brampton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,488
    When you say wont turn over you mean that it makes no chugga-chugga noises when you turn the key to the start position?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    South Lyon Michigan
    Posts
    104
    That sounds like an internal seizure. Try to turn the engine over by hand using the crank damper bolt, or check the oil for metal flakes. Dave W

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    153
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparkie View Post
    When you say wont turn over you mean that it makes no chugga-chugga noises when you turn the key to the start position?
    It makes that noise but it won't start.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC
    Posts
    32
    If your engine turns over but does not fire, you need to check the basics... do you have fuel and spark?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    calgary ab
    Posts
    414
    Broke the timing belt?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    White Rock B.C.
    Posts
    398
    Quote Originally Posted by gary View Post
    Broke the timing belt?
    Wouldn't the engine not crank if it broke the timing belt?
    85 Toyota Corolla AE86 GTS Coupe
    98 Toyota 4Runner Limited

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by shalbot View Post
    Wouldn't the engine not crank if it broke the timing belt?
    That depends if it's an interference engine or not. If it is non-interference it would probably crank a lot faster than normal due to valves not being closed on the compression stroke.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    3,307
    Quote Originally Posted by gary View Post
    Broke the timing belt?
    This^ or fuel pressure.


    Or you could have said "sorry, my kidnap victims keep kicking my elbow, it made me drop my crack pipe and swerve"

    -bangnscrape

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    White Rock B.C.
    Posts
    398
    Quote Originally Posted by danf View Post
    That depends if it's an interference engine or not. If it is non-interference it would probably crank a lot faster than normal due to valves not being closed on the compression stroke.
    Ahh okay that makes more sense to me now, thanks for clearing that up!
    85 Toyota Corolla AE86 GTS Coupe
    98 Toyota 4Runner Limited

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    calgary ab
    Posts
    414
    Super easy to check t belt. remove oil fill cap, look at camshaft, have a buddy crank engine over. if cam is turning, then belt ok, maybe. still possible it might have jumped a tooth or 2 if belt was loose.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    153
    Cams are turning but when turning the key to the ON position, It was dead silent, no buzzing, no clicking. For spark, I need to clean the engine bay before I can yank out any plugs only to have crud fall in.

    Fuel pump, I guess? this will give me an excuse to get a new tank and pump on my journey to restore everything.

    Bosch?, Denso?, or Walbro?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Brampton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,488
    gotta use the fuel pump check connector, by the afm, short the two pins. Otherwise you can trick the fuel pump on by poking the flapper door open in the AFM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    153
    I've FASTEC checked the car and it all leads to the fuel pump. My Walbro should be coming tomorrow.

    While trying to drop the tank, I had a great deal of trouble with the main fuel pressure line circled in red.

    I blasted it with WD40 but to no avail, no matter how hard I try to open it. How the heck can I seperate them??

    Pic isn't my car, just used as a reference.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ae86 fuel tank.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	102.1 KB 
ID:	15041

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    153
    Iused 2 line wrenchs, I'll try again by slipping pipes for an extention and blast it with PB.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Kumamoto Japan
    Posts
    2,515
    I have never seen one intact in Ontario... Cut and switch to AN?

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Koriyama, Japan
    Posts
    3,222
    Yeah, you're gonna need a ton of leverage on that. Get her up in the air and get the pipes out. Again, those seize and then you have to cut them to get the tank down. Not fun.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    153
    Quote Originally Posted by 4Aaron GE View Post
    Yeah, you're gonna need a ton of leverage on that. Get her up in the air and get the pipes out. Again, those seize and then you have to cut them to get the tank down. Not fun.
    Christ almighty, it's impossible.

    If I were to go the cutting route, how the heck could I connect it back?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    153
    This is some crazy sht, cutting my fuel pressure line?

    I had my friend try and he managed to strip the damn octagon shape into nothing. I'm at a loss of options here.
    Last edited by Mdnght Lvr; 09-12-2016 at 09:09 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •